South African Public and School Holidays


When are the public and school holidays in 2021?

South Africa has 12 public holidays as determined by the Public Holidays Act. The Act determines whenever any public holiday falls on a Sunday, the Monday following on it shall be a public holiday.

Public Holidays

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan 2021 Fri New Year's Day
21 Mar 2021 Sun Human Rights Day
2 Apr 2021 Fri Good Friday
5 Apr 2021 Mon Family Day
27 Apr 2021 Tue Freedom Day
1 May 2021 Sat Workers' Day
16 Jun 2021 Wed Youth Day
9 Aug 2021 Mon National Women's Day
24 Sep 2021 Fri Heritage Day
16 Dec 2021 Thu Day of Reconciliation
25 Dec 2021 Sat Christmas Day
26 Dec 2021 Sun Day of Goodwill

School Holidays

Term Start End
1 29 March 2021 12 April 2021
2 28 June 2021 19 July 2021
3 4 October 2021 11 October 2021
4 9 December 2021 ? January 2022
Reference(s):
https://www.gov.za/about-sa/public-holidays
https://www.gov.za/about-sa/school-calendar