South African Public and School Holidays


When are the public and school holidays in 2019?

South Africa has 12 public holidays as determined by the Public Holidays Act. The Act determines whenever any public holiday falls on a Sunday, the Monday following on it shall be a public holiday.

Public Holidays

Date Day Holiday
1 Jan 2019 Tue New Year's Day
21 Mar 2019 Thu Human Rights Day
19 Apr 2019 Fri Good Friday
22 Apr 2019 Mon Family Day
27 Apr 2019 Sat Freedom Day
1 May 2019 Wed Workers' Day
16 Jun 2019 Sun Youth Day
17 Jun 2019 Mon Youth Day Holiday
9 Aug 2019 Fri National Women's Day
24 Sep 2019 Tue Heritage Day
16 Dec 2019 Mon Day of Reconciliation
25 Dec 2019 Wed Christmas Day
26 Dec 2019 Thu Day of Goodwill

School Holidays

Term Start End
1 16 March 2019 1 April 2019
2 15 June 2019 8 July 2019
3 21 September 2019 30 September 2019
4 5 December 2019 14 January 2020
Reference(s):
https://www.gov.za/about-sa/public-holidays
https://www.gov.za/about-sa/school-calendar